Markus Stockhausen

Jazz Legend

Markus Stockhausen is one of the most versatile musicians of our time. He is as much at home in jazz as in contemporary and classical music. For about 25 years he collaborated closely with his father, the composer Karlheinz Stockhausen, who composed many beautiful works for him. With his brother Simon he realised several internationally acclaimed musical projects.

Mariama

Soul France/Germany

Young. Talented. Internationally known as a voice in the background of great musicians. One of Africa's most beautiful voices starts. Goes her own way. Mariama starts her international hit with her hit single "SARAGNIMA". WDR Funkhaus Europa's "World Live" presented their young talents in Africa on their last tour in Germany in 2015, whose six instrumentalists (bass guitar, kora, saxophone, drums, percussion) provide a perfect setting for Mariama's expressive, powerful and lively voice.

Carsten Wicke

Rudra Veena India

Carsten Wicke was born in Germany, where he learned Violin and Vocal Music as a child. He studied North Indian Classical Music with several Master Musicians since the 1990's. His journey into Indian Music started while learning India’s popular percussion instrument Tabla with the international renowned Tabla Maestro Pandit Anindo Chatterjee in Kolkata. Being fascinated by the old classical Dhrupad Music Carsten meets India’s legendary Rudra Veena Master Ustad Asad Ali Khan, whose musical family tradition goes back over many generations, including outstanding Beenkars (Veena players) like Sadiq Ali Khan, Musharraf Khan and Rajab Ali Khan.

Ali Keeler

Accoustic Folk Spanien

Ali Keeler was born in London in 1973 and started learning the violin at the age of seven. During his youth, he played in several orchestras. In 1991, he went on to study classical violin at the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester, where he gained experience playing in a string quartet. He moved to Damascus in Syria in 1998. During his time in Syria, he learnt to sing within the tradition of the maqam in the zawiyas of Damascus and Aleppo, receiving instruction in singing from the well-known munshid Ustadh Mustapha Karim.

Sheikh Hassan Dyck

Spiritual Music

Scheikh Hassan Peter Dyck began his music studies in Berlin in 1966. During this time his interest in Indian and oriental music developed. He spent half a year in India teaching Western European music and studying with Ustad Vilayat Khan. He also performed with the Delhi Symphony Orchestra. This was followed by longer stays abroad in Damascus and Mecca which were significantly inspired by his Sufi master, Maulana Scheikh Nazim Adil al Haqqani ar Rabbani an Naqshibandi.

Unojah

Multicultural Reggae and Worldmusic Deutschland

UNOJAH is the new name of the band Ottoman Empire Soundsystem. The essence of the experience combined with a new founding spirit. More colorful than you dream !, is the flag saying of the five-member multi-cultural reggae world music rattle gang "UNOJAH". The influences are manifold: Five musicians from five nations and three religions mix a colorful cocktail of reggae, Latin, ska, hip hop, oriental and world music with spiritual texts in many languages.

Ahmad Anousheh

Traditional Persian, Fusion and Meditation Music

Ahmad Anousheh was born in Marand, Persia, in 1950. It was his destiny to live as a musician. Since the age of five he has learned to play different traditional instruments: Flutes as well as a Persian drum, the Tombak, and the Santur. With seventeen years of age his heart was drawn to the Persian bamboo flute called Ney, the central musical instrument of the Sufis who are known as the mystics of the orient. At the age of twenty Anousheh was employed as a musician with the Iranian radio and TV corporation. He studied world famous works of poets and philosophers, especially those of Rumi, Hafiz or Saadi, studied musical science and calligraphy, composed, wrote poetry and passed on his knowledge to many students.

Uhuru

African Percussion Legend

As the leader of workshops, Uhuru has introduced a multitude of people to the world of African rhythms over the past 35 years. In his role as a pioneer he had the honor to bring the djembe drum first to Germany and to make it known to a wide audience.

Habama Brothers

Electro, African Percussion and Hip-Hop

The group Habama-Music is formed by the brothers Habibi (1994) and Amadu (1995). The name consists of the first three letters of both first names. Their mother is from Ivory Coast, hence the African-drumming influence. Their father Uhuru is German and has taught them drumming. They master the entire percussion spectrum, from drums to congas and djembe to the Caribbean Steeldrum. As "the lion-strong drummers" they have been stirring up Germany from childhood and were heard at countless Africa festivals, but also at the radio station Bayerischer Rundfunk, which dedicated a feature to them.

Markus Stockhausen

Jazz Legende

Markus Stockhausen, als Trompetensolist, Improvisator und Komponist im Jazz genauso zuhause wie in der zeitgenössischen und der klassischen Musik, zählt zu den vielseitigsten Musikern unserer Zeit. 25 Jahre lang arbeitete er eng mit seinem Vater, dem Komponisten Karlheinz Stockhausen, zusammen, der viele schöne Werke für ihn komponierte. Mit seinem Bruder Simon realisierte er mehrere international anerkannte Musikprojekte.

Mariama

Soul Frankreich/Deutschland

Jung. Talentiert. International bekannt als Stimme im Background großer Musiker. Eine der schönsten Stimmen Afrikas startet durch. Geht eigene Wege. Mariama startete direkt mit ihrer Hitsingle “SARAGNIMA“ ihren internationalen Durchbruch. Bei ihrer letzten Deutschlandtour 2015 präsentierte WDR Funkhaus Europa „World live“ sie als junges Talent Afrikas, deren sechs Instrumentalisten (Bassgitarre, Kora, Sax, Drums, Percussion) einen perfekten Rahmen für ihre ausdrucksstarke, kraftvolle und lebendige Stimme bieten.

Carsten Wicke

Rudra Veena Indien

Carsten Wicke wurde in Deutschland geboren und lernte dort als Kind Violine und Vokalmusik. Seit den 1990er Jahren studierte er nordindische klassische Musik bei mehreren Meistermusikern. Seine Reise in die indische Musik begann, als er Indiens populäres Schlaginstrument Tabla mit dem international bekannten Tabla Maestro Pandit Anindo Chatterjee in Kalkutta lernte. Von der alten klassischen Dhrupad-Musik fasziniert, lernt Carsten Indiens legendären Rudra Veena-Meister Ustad Asad Ali Khan kennen, dessen musikalische Familientradition über viele Generationen zurückreicht, darunter herausragende Beenkars (Veena-Spieler) wie Sadiq Ali Khan, Musharraf Khan und Rajab Ali Khan.

Ali Keeler

Accoustic Folk Spanien

Ali Keeler was born in London in 1973 and started learning the violin at the age of seven. During his youth, he played in several orchestras. In 1991, he went on to study classical violin at the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester, where he gained experience playing in a string quartet. He moved to Damascus in Syria in 1998. During his time in Syria, he learnt to sing within the tradition of the maqam in the zawiyas of Damascus and Aleppo, receiving instruction in singing from the well-known munshid Ustadh Mustapha Karim.

Scheikh Hassan Dyck

Spiritual Music

1966 begann Scheikh Hassan Peter Dyck sein Musikstudium in Berlin. Während dieser zeit entwickelte sich sein Interesse an der indischen und orientalischen Musik. So verbrachte er ein halbes Jahr in Indien, um dort westlich-europäische Musik zu unterrichten und gleichzeitig mit Ustad Vilayat Khan zu studieren. Zudem trat er mit dem Delhi-Symphonie-Orchester auf. Es folgten längere Auslandsaufenthalte in Damaskus und Mekka die durch seinen Sufi Meister, Maulana Scheikh Nazim Adil al Haqqani ar Rabbani an Naqshibandi maßgeblich inspiriert worden sind.

Unojah

Multikultureller Reggae und Weltmusic Deutschland

UNOJAH so lautet der neue Name der Band Ottoman Empire Soundsystem. Die Essenz der Erfahrung verbunden mit neuem Gründerspirit. Bunter als du Dachtest!, so lautet der Flaggenspruch der fünfköpfigen Multi- Kulti- Reggae- Weltmusik- Rasselbande "UNOJAH". Die Einflüsse sind vielfältig: Fünf Musiker aus fünf Nationen und drei Religionen, mixen einen bunten Cocktail aus Reggae, Latin, Ska, Hip Hop, Oriental und Weltmusik mit spirituellen Texten in vielen Sprachen.

Ahmad Anousheh

Traditional Persian, Fusion and Meditation Music

Ahmad Anousheh wurde 1950 in Marand, Persien, geboren. Es war seine Bestimmung, ein Leben als Musiker zu führen. Seit seinem fünften Lebensjahr lernte er verschiedene traditionelle Instrumente: Flöten sowie eine persische Trommel, den Tombak und den Santur. Mit siebzehn Jahren zog es sein Herz zur persischen Bambusflöte namens Ney, dem zentralen Musikinstrument der Sufis, die als Mystiker des Orients bekannt sind. Im Alter von zwanzig Jahren war Anousheh als Musiker bei der iranischen Radio- und Fernsehgesellschaft beschäftigt. Er studierte weltberühmte Werke von Dichtern und Philosophen, insbesondere von Rumi, Hafiz oder Saadi, studierte Musikwissenschaft und Kalligraphie, komponierte, schrieb Gedichte und gab sein Wissen an viele Studenten weiter.

Uhuru

African Percussion Legend

Als Leiter von Workshops hat Uhuru im Laufe der letzten 35 Jahre eine Vielzahl von Menschen in die Welt der afrikanischen Rhythmen eingeführt. In seiner Rolle als Pionier hatte er die Ehre, die Djembetrommel als Erster nach Deutschland zu bringen und einem breiten Publikum bekannt zu machen.

Habama Brothers

Electro, African Percussion und Hip-Hop

Die Gruppe Habama-Music bildet sich aus den Brüdern Habibi (1994) und Amadu (1995). Der Name besteht aus den ersten drei Buchstaben beider Vornamen. Ihre Mutter stammt aus der Elfenbeinküste, daher der afrikanisch-trommlerische Einfluss. Ihr Vater Uhuru ist Deutscher und hat ihnen das Trommeln beigebracht. Sie beherrschen das ganze Percussion-Spektrum, vom Schlagzeug über Congas und Djembe bis hin zur karibischen Steeldrum. Als „Die Löwenstarken Trommler“ haben sie von Kindesbeinen an ganz Deutschland aufgemischt und waren auf zahllosen Afrika-Festivals zu hören, aber auch beim Bayerischen Rundfunk, der ihnen ein Feature widmete.